Did you know that approximately one in three traffic deaths in the United States involve a drunk driver? According to the Georgia FY2019 Highway Safety Plan Annual Report, drunk driving incidents have fluctuated in recent years but the average shows a steady incline.
In this article, we explain the facts and statistics of alcohol-related car accidents in Georgia, and advise you on the next steps to help you seek compensation.
How often is someone killed by a drunk driver in Georgia?
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, approximately 400 people are killed in Georgia DUI accidents in a typical year, accounting for more than a quarter of all traffic fatalities.
How many accidents in Georgia involve drunk driving?
A whopping 24.9 percent of the total car accident deaths were caused by drunk driving collisions. This compares to 28.8 percent nationally.
Let’s take a closer look at the figures:
There were a total of 8,878 alcohol-impaired traffic fatalities in the United States in 2011. Drunk driving fatalities increased by 5.3 percent from 2017 to 2018 with a total of 375 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities that had a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 grams per decilitre (g/dL) or higher. These drunk-driving fatalities accounted for 25 percent of all motor vehicle traffic fatalities in Georgia in 2018. It’s even more sobering over a 10-year period of time with a 12.6 percent increase between 2009 and 2018.
In 2019, there were 353 traffic fatalities out of 1491 that involved a drunk driving crash (24 percent) whereas drunk driving statistics 2021 showed that a total of 450 out of a 1,504 traffic accidents were caused by alcohol impairment (30 percent).
What is the law around drunk driving in Georgia?
In Georgia, drivers with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or higher are considered alcohol-impaired, and can be charged with Driving Under Influence (DUI). Drivers under the age of 21 can be charged if they have a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher. Sobriety checkpoints are allowed in Georgia and negligence claims against alcohol-impaired drivers who cause accidents that result in deaths or terrible injuries are also permitted.
A person charged with a DUI could face a maximum of 12 months of jail time and a $5,000.00 fine. Depending on the severity, drunk drivers could face a minimum of 15 days in jail, a $1,000.00 fine, 240 hours of community service, enforced DUI school and a 12 months probation period. They may also require a substance abuse evaluation and any recommended treatment determined by a judge if the case goes to trial.
Frequently Asked Questions
Take a look at some of top FAQs around Georgia’s drunk driving statistics:
What counties have recorded the most drunk driving incidents?
The highest number of alcohol-related traffic fatalities have been reported in Fulton, Dekalb, Gwinnett, Cobb and Newton. How many drunk driving deaths have there been in 2019? 353 traffic fatalities were reported to have been caused by drink driving.
What percentage of adults drink and drive?
According to a report by the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), 2012, 1.4 percent of Georgia drivers reported driving after drinking too much.
What day has the most alcohol-impaired drivers?
According to the NHTSA, Saturday has the highest number of drivers on the roads and is one of the most dangerous days of the week to drive.
What state has the most drunk drivers?
The NHTSA data shows that Wyoming has the most intoxicated drivers with more traffic accident fatalities recorded per 100,000 people than any other state.On the other hand, the DUI data report indicates that North Dakota reported the most DUIs.
How many accidents involve people under the age of 21?
In 2018, there were 30 traffic fatalities involving a person under the age of 21 years in Georgia, compared to 980 nationally. These made up 18.9 percent of all accidents, compared to the 24 percent national average.
How to prevent drunk driving
Allocate a designated driver before heading out for the night. If you go out alone, arrange for a friend to pick you up or call a taxi or a car-sharing service like Uber and Lyft. On the other hand, if you get involved in an Uber or Lyft accident in Georgia, you can talk to us.
How much money is awarded for punitive damages in a drunk driving case?
The amount of punitive damages depends on a number of factors, including the nature of the offense, driver history, damage caused, whether drinking is determined as a factor in the traffic accident, the driver’s finances and more. If you’re pursuing punitive damages after a alcohol-related motor vehicle accident, we encourage you to contact our experienced car accident attorneys. We offer a free consultation to discuss your options.
SERP Drunk driving statistics in Georgia: Approximately 400 people are killed in drunk driving accidents in Georgia annually. Need advice? Contract our experienced personal injury attorneys for a free consultation.