If you’re a victim of a DUI accident, it’s vital to know what your options are in terms of seeking compensation. As Georgia has a zero tolerance law for drunk driving, this could stand in your favor.
In this article, we discuss Georgia’s zero tolerance level and who it applies to, with expert advice from our experienced personal injury lawyers to help you seek compensation.
Scroll down for our Georgia Zero Tolerance Law Article Infographic and FAQ Infographic:
Does Georgia have a zero tolerance law for DUI?
The state of Georgia operates a zero tolerance policy. This means that drivers who are found to have exceeded the legal limit for drinking while driving will face criminal charges for Driving Under the Influence (DUI).
When is a Driver Considered to be Legally Drunk in Georgia?
A driver is considered to be legally drunk in Georgia when:
- An adult non-commercial driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC) exceeds 0.08 percent
- A commercial driver’s blood alcohol level exceeds 0.04 percent
- A child driver under the age of 21 years’ blood concentration exceeds 0.02 percent
Who does the zero alcohol tolerance apply to?
If you’re wondering who is subject to the zero tolerance policies, it’s any driver that exceeds the blood alcohol concentration for their age and license. The law in Georgia states that those under 21 who have exceeded 0.02 percent BAC will be charged the same penalties as an adult.
Is the zero tolerance law in all states?
Georgia is not the only state where law enforcement operates a zero tolerance law for impaired driving. Other states include Arizona, Utah, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Michigan, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island..
What you need to know about Georgia’s DUI laws and penalties
Driving while intoxicated is one of the biggest mistakes people can make. Penalties include fines, license suspension where the offender has to pay for a license reinstatement fee, hours of community service, or in severe cases, even jail time. The severity of the penalty depends on the BAC of the driver, their age, and their driving record. In other words, whether it is their first offense as harsher charges are laid for subsequent offenses. It also depends on the license they hold, whether it’s a personal license or a commercial license, such as a school bus driver. Find out more about Georgia’s drunk driver laws in our article.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here are some of the most common questions people ask about the legal alcohol limit and Georgia’s zero tolerance law:
Who can drink beer in Georgia?
In some states, a person in the driver’s seat cannot have a beer while driving, but their passengers can. In Georgia, however, in Georgia, it’s illegal for people in a motor vehicle to have an open container of alcohol, regardless of whether they’re driving or not.
What is MADD?
MADD stands for Mothers Against Drunk Driving, a campaign that’s launched to help stop the impact of drunk or intoxicated driving and support the victims of DUI accidents.
What is SADD?
SADD stands for Students Against Destructive Decisions. This school-based organization is dedicated to combating the issues of underage drinking, drug-impaired driving or alcohol-impaired drivers, all of which result in many premature deaths.
Can you drink non-alcoholic beer while driving in Georgia?
A person can drive after consuming non-alcoholic beers, without risk of facing a DUI charge. However, as some alcohol-free beers contain up to 0.5% alcohol by volume (ABV), this would depend on how many were consumed.
What type of damages can victims of a DUI accident receive?
The problem with DUI incidents is that many injured people don’t know how to seek compensation. The damages a victim of a drunk driving accident can expect to receive depends on a number of factors. These include whether it’s the offender’s first offense, their age, and more. We recommend speaking to a personal injury lawyer who can advise you on the next steps for claiming compensation.
What should I do if I am the victim of a drunk driving accident in Georgia?
We recommend speaking to an Atlanta auto firm for advice on how to proceed. If you need legal advice, our Atlanta auto accident lawyer is at hand and offers a free consultation.